Below are lighthouses along the southernmost coast of Maine, from Kittery to Biddeford. This area proudly includes Goat Island, which was the last manned lighthouse in Maine.
York Lighthouse Regional Map
York Lighthouse Region
Primary Lighthouses of York Region
Built in 1879, Cape Neddick is the southernmost of Maine's many lights. It is also known as Nubble Light, referring to the barren and rocky ledge (the Nubble) on which it sits. Subject to extreme winds and cold temperatures the flow of oil to the lamp resulted in problems for many years, until electricity came to the Nubble in 1938.
Goat Island Light was first established in 1822, then rebuilt in 1859. It has the unique distinction of being the last manned lighthouse in Maine. Initially constructed with a fifth-order lens, the 25 foot brick tower has since been automated with a 300mm optic lens in 1990. Today the island is managed by the Kennebunkport Conservation Trust.
Whaleback Light has a long history of construction and repair. Although initially established in 1820 the light was immediately damaged beyond repair by a series of winter storms. A second lighthouse was commissioned in 1831, but this tower´s granite foundation was badly laid and not bolted to bedrock. It wan't until 1872 that more permanent repairs were made.
Located on the northeast side of Biddeford Pool, Wood Island Light delineates the entrance to the Saco River. In 1808 the first light on the island was erected - a conical granite block tower and accompanying one and a half story wood frame keeper´s house. In 1858 a second tower of the same style replaced the first.
Boon Island is a barren strip of rocky land that is often the unwilling recipient of nasty ocean stroms. It's first lighthouse was cheaply built in 1799 and lasted five years before being swept away in a violent winter storm. It wasn't until 1852 that a permanent granite structure was erected.